Thanks & see you soon!

monarch

Like the caterpillar that becomes a butterfly, we are always evolving into new versions of ourselves.

On this lovely Saturday morning, I’d like to take moment to thank each of you for supporting my run at this thing. The voting for the Good Mood Gig “talent search” ended last night at midnight. At the end of the day, I wound up with 711 votes – not only a very respectable tally, but also two lucky numbers, right? Unfortunately (or not … more on the not below), because I was 4,361 votes shy of the 20th spot, I will not be making the cut into the second round of the competition. 

I’m very excited about that.

Here’s the thing – I’ve been blogging professionally for about two years now. I love what I do and am very grateful to the folks who give me the opportunity to write for their audiences about specific topics, usually motherhood. But, I have to admit that writing for my very own blog about whatever topic caught my fancy was quite a different feeling. And, I liked it. Over the past few weeks, I realized that I don’t want to give that autonomy up.

As I’ve mentioned before, the deadline pressure of the Good Mood Gig competition was just the kick in the arse I needed. Launching by own blog is something I’ve been thinking about doing for a long time. If it weren’t for the hype of the blogging contest, I might have waited months (or even years) longer before actually getting it done. So, I thank the folks at NatureMade and Ignite Social Media for giving me the jumpstart I so desperately needed.

And I thank you for joining me on this little journey. I thank you for your votes, your comments, your enthusiasm, and your encouragement. I thank you for stopping me in the coffee shop to say you voted. I thank you for sharing my links with your friends and family through email, facebook, and twitter. I thank you for jumping on board with my fundraising drive. I thank you for taking the time to read my posts and for each kind comment. I thank you for sending pep-talk emails telling me how perfect I’d be for the job. Every gesture, no matter how small, warmed my heart and made me realize more deeply just how lucky I am to have so many thoughtful and caring people in my life. This experience made me take a little leap of faith, and you were there to catch me.

So, why am I so excited about not making it into the second round of NatureMade’s competition? Because I’ve realized that sharing the questions, ideas, and random thoughts I have is too important to me to sell it off to the highest bidder. I want to keep writing about being in a good mood, living life to the fullest, figuring out how to get things done, and enjoying each moment of the now; but I want to do it for myself and for you.

I’m going to take a break for a couple of months – November to finish writing my first NaNoWriMo novel, and December to have some down time with my family – but come 2010, I’ll be relaunching my blog under a new name. I hope to see you there and look forward to taking the next step of this journey with you.

Thanks again, from the bottom of my heart.

All the best,

signature

2 responses to “Thanks & see you soon!

  1. “I’ve realized that sharing the questions, ideas, and random thoughts I have is too important to me to sell it off to the highest bidder.” ~Love that!

    I am so excited that you’ll be continuing to write your own blog-it’ll make stalking you online so much easier-lol!

    The Good Mood Blog would’ve been lucky to have you, but we (your fans) are luckier, and I’m okay with that!

    NaNoWriMo!!! Write, write, write!

    🙂

  2. @Shangrila – Just visiting my blog as a procrastination technique (NaNoWriMo brings out ALL my best procrastination techniques!), and saw your comment. Thanks, much. I’m looking forward to picking the blog back up in January and am tickled pink to be joining my other bloggy friends (like you!) who put little pieces of themselves out into the world each day. 🙂 See you on fb and the NNWM site!

Leave a Reply

